Best Travel Writing Solas Awards: And The Winners Are…

solas.jpgYes, with the Oscars, Travvies and the Solas…it is definitely award season!

The Solas Awards and BestTravelWriting.com were launched in 2006 by Travelers’ Tales to honour writers whose work inspires others to explore.

Winners of the First Annual Solas Awards for Best Travel Story of the Year announced on March 1 by the editors of Travelers’ Tales are as follows:

1st Prize: Tom Joseph collected $1,000 for his moving story “Fishing with Larry.”
2nd Prize: Nancy Penrose won the silver award and $750 for “Flamenco Form.”
3rd Prize: Taking the bronze and $500 was Jennifer Baljko’s “Castles in the Sky.”




Some 300 entries in 21 categories were received; you can see the full list of winners here.

Winning stories will be posted on BestTravelWriting.com and many will appear in future Travelers’ Tales books.

Second Annual Solas Awards:
Submission Deadline:
The end of one thing always leads to the beginning of another. Submissions are open for Second Annual Solas Awards. The deadline for entries is September 1, 2007.
Details and official rules on how to enter can be found here. (The competition is not open if you live outside the US).
Win Cash and Publication
Grand Prize for Best Travel Story of the Year:
$1,000 Gold
$750 Silver
$500 Bronze

Awards in Categories
Certificates and bragging rights for Gold, Silver, and Bronze (no cash awards in categories) plus a copy of The Best Travel Writing 2006 and The Best Women’s Travel Writing 2006.

Enter one or more categories and you’re automatically entered for the Grand Prize.

General submissions:
In case you have a funny, illuminating, adventurous, uplifting, scary, inspiring and poignant travel tale, and fancy a general submission to one of Travelers Tales books, send it to submit@travelerstales.com. Do have a thorough look at which book you target the article to, and a look at previously written work before you submit.