Solas Awards Deadline – October 15

Deadline for Travelers’ Tales annual competition to honor excellence in travel writing — The Solas Awards — is a week away. (Although you can enter year round)

For those not familiar with Travelers’ Tales or the Solas Awards, go to for more information and how to enter.

There are 21 categories in which you can enter, however for the following categories, entries are scanty:




– Cruise Story
– Doing Good or the Kindness of Strangers
– Family Travel
– Love Story
– Men’s Travel
– Travel and Food
– Travel and Healing
– Travel and Shopping
– Young Traveler

So, dig out or write some travel stories that are “funny, illuminating, adventurous, uplifting, scary, inspiring, poignant—stories that reflect the unique alchemy that occurs when you enter unfamiliar territory and begin to see the world differently as a result.”

Prizes are $1,000, $750, and $500 for the top three; all other category winners receive a certificate and a copy of the most recent edition of The Best Travel Writing or The Best Women’s Travel Writing.

NB: The competition is only valid for people living the the US.

Related Content